Scott Okamoto's Newsletter
Chapel Probation
Early Access to Chapel Probation
0:00
-42:14

Early Access to Chapel Probation

For my subscribers- Please Share tomorrow!

At this point, no religious publishing house wants to publish my book. Each one had different reasons, but the one constant was that I don’t have a platform. 1000 twitter followers just won’t cut it. So, the new plan is to pitch to publishing houses that focus on BIPOC and progressive writers.

In this post is the premier episode of Chapel Probation, featuring Dez Revish. I am crafting each episode with a combination of narration and interviews, interwoven with original music and sound cues. And each episode is just 40-45 min. Each person’s story will astound you, and each person’s story of deconstructing from evangelical christianity sheds light on the dangers it poses to the world.

So, if you are willing and able, I would appreciate any shares, tweets, and posts to spread the world about this podcast. One editor at a large publishing house literally said the book was something they’re looking for but…no platform. The implication is always that an Asian American man can’t deliver a compelling, insightful memoir, so this podcast is the way forward for now.

I’m so excited for you all to hear these stories and my point of view through this podcast. If any of you have suggestions for topics, let me know. And after March, I’ll be opening it up to people from all christian colleges and universities.

Feel free to join the Chapel Probation Discord server for bonus content and live events.

And if you want to help fund the future of the podcast, I started a Patreon thing. I’m hoping to upgrade some sound equipment and eventually plan a live event for the guests and the fans of the podcast. When it’s safe.

The Chapel Probation Podcast goes live tomorrow on Spotify, Apple Podcasts, and Google Podcasts. You can also get to it on my Anchor page.

Thank you so much for accompanying me on this journey. I’m a nobody Asian American dude trying to publish a book in a world that doesn’t know it wants me to. Yet.

0 Comments
Scott Okamoto's Newsletter
Chapel Probation
A companion to Scott's forthcoming book about losing faith while teaching at an evangelical university, this podcast will feature former students and faculty of Azusa Pacific University. They will tell stories of racism, sexism, hatred towards the LGBTQ community, and early alt-right shenanigans. Other guests outside of the APU world will also be invited to share their experiences.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
R. Scott Okamoto